FAE Awards $150,000 in College Scholarships

Share this content

The New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants (NYSSCPA) and its Foundation for Accounting Education (FAE) have announced the fifty New York students who will receive Excellence in Accounting Scholarships for the 2012-2013 school year.

The scholarships are awarded in order to provide financial assistance and encouragement to accounting majors. Forty-eight college students each received a $2,500 scholarship. Three students who had previously graduated the FAE's Career Opportunities in the Accounting Profession (COAP) program each received $10,000 scholarships.

"The Foundation for Accounting Education takes great pride in awarding these scholarships to truly deserving students in an effort to support their educational goals", said FAE President John Kearney. "By encouraging top-level students to enter the field of accounting, we hope to strengthen the profession as a whole." 

Students receiving the $2,500 scholarships must be a declared accounting major and have achieved an overall cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher. Students also must be eligible for financial aid to receive the scholarships. FAE has dedicated campus liaisons at forty-seven colleges in New York State to help identify students eligible for these scholarships.

The $10,000 scholarships were awarded to high school students who have graduated the COAP program and will be starting college in the fall. The COAP scholarship winners will receive the $10,000 over the next five years toward their tuition in an accounting program.

The COAP program was founded in 1987 in order to attract high school students from public and private schools in New York State into the accounting profession. Recruitment for the COAP program is focused on minority groups historically underrepresented in the CPA profession.

FAE Scholarship List 2012

Alfred University - Christine Donivan

Canisius College - John Gannon

Canisius College - Jeffrey Farr

Canisius College - Michael Carrig

CUNY Baruch - Pedro Reyes

Daemen College - Kristy Redding

Elmira College - Steffan Waters

Hartwick College - Lindsey Frawley

Hilbert College - Adam Clabo

Hilbert College - Jeffery Ritter

Hofstra University - Edgar Huamantla

Ithaca College - Jilian Kowalowski

Ithaca College - Scott Koblick

Le Moyne College - Kelly Anderson

Le Moyne College - Bradley Canino

Manhattan College - Nicole Landes

Manhattan College - Alba Lika

Marist College - Emilio Menendez

Molloy College - Lesya Zazdravnaya

Molloy College - William Surowiec

Nazareth College - Jacquelyn Reis

Rochester Institute of Technology - Daniel Mancuso

Siena College - Raymond Brown

Siena College - Melissa McLaughlin

St. Francis College - Chandradath Ramotar

St. Francis College - Vanessa Mateo

St. John Fisher College - Kristi Jeffres

St. John Fisher College - Mark Fancher

The College of St. Rose - Andrew Kochian

SUNY Albany - Amy Wong

SUNY Brockport - Allison Sawyer

SUNY Brockport - Elizabeth Hall

SUNY Fredonia - Caitlin Ballerstein

SUNY Fredonia - Tiffany Place

SUNY Fredonia - Diana Derr

SUNY Geneseo - Andrew McNulty

SUNY Oneonta - Scott Burlison

SUNY Oneonta - Timothy Narine

SUNY Oswego - Michael Sweeney

SUNY Oswego - Daniel Krol

SUNY Plattsburgh - Heather Brewer

Syracuse University - Jin Chen

Syracuse University - Samantha Ackley

University at Buffalo - Amber Shields

University at Buffalo - Amilyn Corliss

University at Buffalo - Limin Liu

University of Rochester - Adam Bojanowski

Utica College - Ashley Baye

COAP Scholarships 2012

Hartwick College - Matthew Roth

Binghamton University - Brian Galvin

Rochester Institute of Technology - Shayla Sanders

Related articles:

Source: August 3, 2012, New York State Society of CPAs Press Release

About Terri Eyden


Please login or register to join the discussion.

There are currently no replies, be the first to post a reply.