Beta Alpha Psi's Outstanding Faculty Advisor Awards

Share this content

The Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award, sponsored by McGladrey LLP, was presented to five faculty advisors at the Beta Alpha Psi Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, on August 3, 2012. Recipients were Sherry Ross, Texas State University, San Marcos (Kappa Eta chapter); Tom Purcell, Creighton University (Alpha Nu chapter); Mark Judd, University of San Diego (Zeta Kappa chapter); Donald Tidrick, Northern Illinois University (Gamma Pi chapter); and Arthur Reed, Bentley University (Theta Gamma chapter).

The award recognizes faculty advisors who make substantial contributions to the professional growth and development of business financial information students. Faculty advisors often work many additional hours to be present at various Beta Alpha Psi meetings, community service activities, firm receptions, member initiations, and to meet with chapter officers to plan for the months ahead.

In addition to being recognized in front of their chapter and their peers, recipients also receive a plaque and a $5,000 cash award from McGladrey in recognition of their achievements.

Beta Alpha Psi Professional Partners Chair and McGladrey National Talent Acquisition Leader Ken Bansemer said",This award is a significant way to recognize Beta Alpha Psi faculty advisors for all they do throughout the year. The role of the faculty advisor isn't glamorous - it is often a labor of love. Love for the profession, love for assisting their students, and love for watching a group of people acquire skills and knowledge that will establish them as future leaders." 

Lifelong Beta Alpha Psi member and award winner Mark Judd states",Little did I know back in 1973 when I became a member, that someday I would become a faculty advisor. Today I am honored to be recognized with this award and so pleased to be part of an organization where I get to see young men and women develop as professionals in this amazing profession." 

Thought of as a true acknowledgement of appreciation for all that faculty advisors do, the award has been in place since 1969, when it was first established in memory of Richard E. Claire by the Andersen Foundation. The 2012 Outstanding Faculty Award winners will join 214 of their peers in receiving the distinguished award. 

Related articles:

About Beta Alpha Psi:

Founded in 1919, Beta Alpha Psi is an honorary organization for financial information students and professionals. The primary objective of Beta Alpha Psi is to encourage and give recognition to scholastic and professional excellence in the business information field. This includes promoting the study and practice of accounting, finance, and information systems; providing opportunities for self-development, service, and association among members and practicing professionals, and encouraging a sense of ethical, social, and public responsibility. Headquartered in Durham, North Carolina, Beta Alpha Psi has 300 chapters on college and university campuses with over 300,000 members initiated since Beta Alpha Psi's formation. 

About McGladrey LLP: 

McGladrey LLP is the fifth largest US provider of assurance, tax, and consulting services, with more than 6,500 professionals and associates in more than 75 offices nationwide. McGladrey is a licensed CPA firm and a member of RSM International, the sixth largest global network of independent accounting, tax, and consulting firms.

Source: Beta Alpha Psi News Release



Please login or register to join the discussion.

There are currently no replies, be the first to post a reply.