Accounting foundation announces 2008 scholarship winners

Share this content

Like all professions, the accounting profession is continually working to ensure a steady flow of qualified young people into its ranks.

Since 1969, the National Society of Accountants (NSA) Scholarship Foundation has provided nearly $1 million to deserving undergraduate and graduate students who are committed to pursuing a career in accounting, helping to develop more qualified young accountants.

This year, 44 students will receive scholarships ranging from $500 - $2,000. These recipients were selected from more than 750 applicants on the basis of an overall outstanding academic record, demonstrated leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience, stated goals and aspirations, and financial need.

"Our scholarship program not only ensures that we continue to promote our distinguished profession," explains NSA Scholarship Foundation President Harold F. Krieger, Jr., "but that we have helped, in some small part, the next generation of accountants that will be needed in the future."

The 2008 scholarship recipients include:

Jessica A. Birchwell
University of Kentucky
J. Arthur & Gwendolyn Best Memorial Scholarship

Laura E. Blackman
University of Alabama
Alabama Association of Accountants

Kayla R. Burdette
West Virginia Wesleyan College
Samuel S. Stern Memorial Scholarship

Jordan K. Chilson
University of Alaska Anchorage
Alaska Society of Independent Accountants

Allen D. Christianson
Northcentral Technical College
Wisconsin Association of Accountants

Devin D. Claus
University of North Dakota
North Dakota Society of Accountants

Laurie J. Corradino
Colorado State University
Chester Borelli Memorial Scholarship

Nikette N. Craig
George C. Wallace State Community College
Alabama Association of Accountants

Cory M. Daigneault
Thomas College
Maine Association of Accountants

Pearl M. Degen
Dowling College
New York Society of Independent Accountants

Erick S. Dennett
Michigan State University
Independent Accountants Association of Michigan

Stephanie J. Dlabal
Kansas State University
Millard D. Ashley Memorial Scholarship

Crystal C. Dosser
University of Alaska Anchorage
Alaska Society of Independent Accountants

Colleen M. Easton
Milwaukee Area Technical College
SE Chapter of Wisconsin Association of Accountants

Christine Fairchild
Radford University
Pennsylvania Society of Public Accountants

Alyssa B. Foster
Simpson University
Montana Society of Public Accountants

Kayla N. Gill
Middle Tennessee State University
John Hicks Memorial Scholarship

Jesse S. Graewin
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Wisconsin Association of Accountants

Bret D. Groenenboom
University of Northern Iowa
Sidney Weinberg Memorial Memorial Scholarship

Amber L. Hodson
Missouri Western State University
A. Clyde Rohrs Memorial Scholarship

Courtney L. Howard
Auburn University
Alabama Association of Accountants

Joy N. Ibanga
University of Arkansas
Stephen E. Lampf Memorial Scholarship

Emma J. Jaynes
College of St. Benedict
Minnesota Association of Public Accountants

Mitzie M. Johnson
Indiana University
Joseph L. Kaufmann Scholarship

Melanie A. Kudlacik
State University of New York
Milton Brown Scholarship

Michael L. Lenard
Northern Illinois University
Stanley H. Stearman Scholarship

Stephanie L. Lewis
Tulsa Community College
Oklahoma Society of Accountants

Brandon Martin
Ferrum College
Louis and Fannie Sager Memorial Scholarship

Courtney K. Miller
Philander Smith College
Arkansas Society of Public Accountants

Jessica D. Muhle
University of Nebraska
Nebraska Society of Independent Accountants

Tara D. Nevill
Middle Tennessee State University
Tennessee Association of Accountants

Christina Ng
St. Francis College
Harry Roman Memorial Scholarship

Thomas A. Orr
Central Washington University
Washington Association of Accountants

Meghann E. Overholt
Carson-Newman College
W. R. Lampley Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Michelle C. Parker
Johnson and Wales University
Herbert H. Landy Memorial Scholarship

Marissa M. Prosky
Villanova University
Accounting Financial and Tax Professionals of New Jersey

Charlene D. Rhinehart
DePaul University
Independent Accountants Association of Illinois

Judy L. Shackelford
Mississippi State University
Forrest T. Jones Scholarship

Rebecca J. Shotwell
Northcentral Technical College
Wisconsin Association of Accountants

Odalys Solares
University of Florida
Florida Society of Accountants

Dallas T. Vincent
University of Wisconsin
A. William Ferrance Memorial Scholarship

Kara R. Williamson
University of St. Thomas
Oregon Association of Independent Accountants

Adam B. Young – Idaho
Brigham Young University
Idaho Association of Public Accountants

Ryan C. Wood – Utah
Brigham Young University
Stanley H. Stearman Scholarship – 2nd Year

To learn more about the NSA Scholarship Foundation program or to make a contribution, visit the NSA Web site, or write to the NSA Scholarship Foundation at 1010 N. Fairfax Street, Alexandria, Virginia 22314-1574, fax 703-549-2984.

# # #

NSA and its affiliates represent 30,000 members who provide accounting, auditing, tax preparation, financial and estate planning, and management services to approximately 19 million individuals and business clients. Most members are sole practitioners or partners in small- to medium- size accounting firms. NSA protects the public by requiring its members to adhere to a strict code of ethics.

The National Society of Accountants (NSA) Scholarship Foundation is a 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization formed in response to NSA member commitment to education and the accounting profession. Through its national scholarship program, the Foundation encourages the next generation of accountants by providing financial assistance to college students majoring in accounting. The Foundation also administers an Educational Grant Program which provides grant funding for the development or enhancement of educational programs, surveys, research and other education activities for those currently in the profession. The NSA Scholarship Foundation, a tax-exempt organization, relies on voluntary, tax-deductible contributions received from individuals, businesses and organizations to fund the activities necessary to sustain its programs.

About admin


Please login or register to join the discussion.

There are currently no replies, be the first to post a reply.