IFAC Names Members of New Auditing Standards Board

Share this content

The International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) has named the members of its new International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (IAASB). The board replaces the International Auditing Practices Committee and will be responsible for setting international standards on auditing.

The members of the new board are: Chairman Dietz Mertin (Germany), John L Archambault (USA), Roger Dassen (Netherlands), Denis Desautels (Canada), Richard Dieter (USA), Ana Maria Elorietta (Brazil), Denise Esdon (Canada), Jan Bo Hansen (Denmark), Gen Ikegami (Japan), Suresh Kana (South Africa), John Kellas (United Kingdom), Ian McPhee (Australia), Edmund Noonan (USA), Ian Plaistowe (United Kingdom), Roger Simnet (Australia), Roberto Tizzano (Italy), Gerard Tremoliere (France) and Yang Zhiguo (China).

The IAASB technical director, Jim Sylph, is located at IFAC's New York offices. The board's web site was officially opened on April 1, 2002. The site provides information about IAASB's work program, projects in progress and upcoming meetings. Visitors can register online to attend the board's meetings, which are open to the public beginning with its June 10-14, 2002 meeting in Mexico City.

IFAC's membership consists of 156 member bodies in 114 countries, representing more than 2.4 million accountants in public practice, education, government, industry and commerce.

-Rosemary Schlank

About admin


Please login or register to join the discussion.

There are currently no replies, be the first to post a reply.