AICPA awards Distinguished Service medals

Share this content

The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants has awarded Kathy Eddy, CPA, former Chairman, and Professor Gary John Previts, CPA, PhD, former member of its governing Council and Board of Directors, the 2007 Gold Medal for Distinguished Service. The award recognizes those individuals whose influence on accounting as a whole is especially notable in comparison to other profession leaders. It is the highest award granted by the AICPA.

Eddy and Previts accepted the award at the Fall meeting of the AICPA Council, which concluded earlier this week in Tampa, Florida.

"Kathy and Gary have significantly contributed to the growth and success of the accounting profession throughout their extensive and distinguished careers," said Doyle Z. Williams, Chair – AICPA Awards Committee, in presenting the award. "This year's Gold Medal recipients have shared their knowledge, skills and abilities through their varied professional and community activities."

Eddy was Chairman of the AICPA Board of Directors in 2000 – 2001 and has served on the Board, governing Council, and numerous committees, including the Audit, Finance, Compensation, Strategic Planning, State Legislation, and the Special Committee on Mobility. She also has served as Chairman of the AICPA Special Committee on State Regulation.

In addition, Eddy has been active professionally in her home state serving as both President of the West Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants and President of the West Virginia State Board of Accountancy. In other professional activities, she currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors, a member of the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee, and Chairman of the Audit Committee of Harsco Corporation.

Eddy is also highly active in community affairs as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Camden Clark Memorial Hospital, Chairman of the West Virginia Jobs Investment Board, and Treasurer of the Chamber of Commerce of the Mid-Ohio Valley Business and Education Foundation.

Eddy is a founding shareholder of McDonough, Eddy, Parsons & Baylous in Parkersburg, WV and received a BBA in Accounting from Marshall University in 1972. She is a recipient of the Marshall University Distinguished Service Award and is a Member of the University's Lewis College of Business Hall of Fame.

Previts served on the AICPA's Board of Directors and governing Council. He has twice led AICPA teams which have reviewed the standard setting processes of the U.S. Federal Government as to the authoritative status of the Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board. He was also a member of the Institute's National CPA Financial Literacy Commission, which directs the 360 Degrees of Financial Literacy effort and Feed the Pig campaign.

Previts serves with the Accountability Advisory Council of the Comptroller General of the United States. He is a past President of the Ohio Society of CPAs and is currently president of the American Accounting Association.

Previts received a faculty appointment at Case Western University in 1979. He completed his undergraduate degree at John Carroll University, his Master of Accountancy at Ohio State University, and his PhD at the University of Florida. He is the editor of Research in Accounting Regulation and has co-authored A History of Accounting in the United States and CPA Professional Duties and Responsibilities. He has received the Ohio Society of CPAs Gold Medal and the Weatherhead School's Outstanding Service and Research Award.

About admin


Please login or register to join the discussion.

There are currently no replies, be the first to post a reply.