Share this content

BELLEVUE (August 13, 2014) – The Washington Society of Certified Public Accountants (WSCPA) announces the following award winners for 2013-2014:

Rick Anderson, CPA is the 2014 recipient of the WSCPA John L. O’Brien Lifetime Achievement Award.  Anderson is a partner at Moss Adams and Chairman of the Praxity Management Board.  This award recognizes Anderson’s career of leadership and service to the accounting profession.

“Rick Anderson exemplifies core values of passion for excellence, integrity, lifetime learning, and leading by example and respect,” said Chris Schmidt, Chairman and CEO of Moss Adams.

Anderson has been with Moss Adams since his graduation from Western Washington University in 1973.  He has served on several AICPA committees and tasks forces as well as two terms as a trustee on the Financial Accounting Foundation, and chair of a Blue Ribbon Panel for the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy.

Peterson Sullivan, LLP is the 2014 recipient of the WSCPA Business of the Year Award. Peterson Sullivan is a Seattle-based public accounting and business advisory firm with more than 150 professional and support staff. 

Peterson Sullivan has many employees who volunteer for the WSCPA and has been a long-time supporter of the activities and programs of the WSCPA.

Sarah Ozanne, CPA, is the 2014 recipient of the WSCPA New Professionals Award.    

Ozanne has been a WSCPA member since joining as a student member in 2008.  She is the new chair of the Puget Sound Young Professionals Committee, sits on the Washington CPA Foundation Scholarship Committee, and volunteers to speak to college students about the CPA profession.

Ozanne is a senior accountant with Moss Adams, LLP in Everett, Washington.

Wendy Kwan is the 2014 recipient of the WSCPA Rising Star Award.  Kwan, a recent graduate from the University of Washington – Bothell, has been a tireless supporter of the WSCPA on the campus by promoting scholarships, the value of memberships, and spreading the word about opportunities to connect with CPAs.  She was also a leader in the Beta Alpha Psi Club at UW-Bothell.

Kwan is now working at Bader Martin, P.S. a public accounting firm in Seattle, Washington.

Dave Trujillo, CPA, is the 2014 recipient of the WSCPA Outstanding Volunteer Leader Award.   Trujillo has been actively involved with the WSCPA’s Professional Conduct Committee, serving as both a member and the chair.  He has been on the WSCPA Board of Directors, the Olympia Chapter Board, and on the 2010 WSCPA/State Board of Accountancy Structure and Operation Review Task Forces. 

Trujillo is the Executive Director of the Washington State Gambling Commission. 

Mike Cheney, CPA, is the 2014 recipient of the WSCPA Outstanding Volunteer Leader Award.   Cheney has been on the WSCPA Government Accounting and Auditing Committee (GAAC) for the past 30 years.  He has mentored dozens of CPAs and has ensured the enduring success of the GAAC Conference.

Cheney recently retired as the Director of Finance at Pierce College; prior to that he was a government employee 31 years.

State Representative Roger Goodman is the recipient of the WSCPA Special Award

Goodman has been actively involved with the WSCPA and AICPA.  Representing Washington as a legislator, he addressed a national meeting of the AICPA.  Goodman was also a panelist on the WSCPA’s first professional issues update webcast.  Goodman demonstrates a good understanding of accounting profession’s needs and is an advocate for the profession in Olympia.   

With more than 9,000 members, the Washington Society of Certified Public Accountants (www.wscpa.org) is the only organization in the State of Washington dedicated to serving the professional needs of certified public accountants, educating consumers about CPAs and the services they provide, and encouraging students to study accounting and enter the CPA profession. Media representatives are invited to visit the WSCPA online at www.wscpa.org.

Share this content