NSA announces award winners at annual meeting

Share this content

The longtime tradition of recognizing the best and the brightest in the accounting profession was continued this year at the recent National Society of Accountants (NSA) 63rd Annual Meeting in Kansas City, Missouri. A range of individuals and NSA affiliated state organizations were honored with major awards.

Accountant of the Year – The Accountant of the Year is given to an individual member in recognition of outstanding achievement and service to the accounting profession, the state society, and the community. This award was presented to Joan C. LeValley, EA, ATA, ATP, for her accomplishments as a leader of the Illinois Society, NSA, her community, and the accounting profession.

Affiliated State Organization (ASO) of the Year – This award was given to North Carolina Society of Accountants for work in education, member recruitment, public policy, public relations and its support for NSA.

State Director of the Year – Leonard L. Larson, ATA, ATP, ECS, was honored with the Norma Kraus Memorial Award as State Director of the Year.

Distinguished Service Award – This award was presented to Roger Berryman, EA, ATA, in recognition of his significant and exemplary contributions for the betterment of NSA and its membership as well as the accounting profession. The Distinguished Service Award recognizes continuous service, loyalty, and dedication to NSA.

Keith Billings Memorial Award – This award was presented to two outstanding ASO publications, including The Pennsylvania Accountant, published by the Pennsylvania Society of Public Accountants, and Debits and Credits, published by the Independent Accountants Association of Illinois.

National Editorial Award – This award was presented to two winners. John E. Iaconco was honored for "Ethics and Ethical Behavior," which appeared in the Minnesota Association of Public Accountants Newsletter. Roger Berryman was honored for the best state president's article appearing in the Oklahoma Accountant Register.

Charles W. McAllister Award – This award was presented to ASOs in three categories honoring them for the highest net increase in NSA membership during the past year. For Division I, the award went to the West Virginia Public Accountants Association; for Division II, the award went to the South Carolina Society of Accountants; and for Division III, the award went to the New York Society of Independent Accountants.

Speaker of the Year Award – Bill Parrish, ABA, ATA, ATP, ECS earned this award for his presentations at the nationwide IRS Tax Forums and the NSA ConnectED Webinar Series.

Ten Plus Club Member-Get-a-Member Program – Receiving blue blazers for sponsoring at least 10 new NSA members are the newest members of this club: Steven R. Desdier, Joyce Funkhouser-Lingelbach, and Leonard L. Larson.

About NSA
NSA and its affiliates represent 30,000 members who provide accounting, auditing, tax preparation, financial and estate planning, and management services to approximately 19 million individuals and business clients. Most members are sole practitioners or partners in small- to medium- size accounting firms. NSA protects the public by requiring its members to adhere to a strict code of ethics.

About admin


Please login or register to join the discussion.

There are currently no replies, be the first to post a reply.