New President Takes Reins of Small-Business Lobby

Sift Media
Share this content

Longtime technology executive Todd A. Stottlemyer has been chosen to lead the country's biggest advocacy group for small business.

The National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB) has selected Stottlemyer, the CEO of Apogen Technologies, as its new president and CEO. He will replace current president and CEO Jack Faris, who is retiring after 13 years, in mid-February.

NFIB Chairman Thomas Musser announced the change in leadership Monday. “We're fortunate to find someone who truly understands the needs and challenges facing small business today,” Musser said. “When you combine Todd's business background with his active involvement in the policy and political arena, along with his extensive knowledge of the technology industry, it's clear he's an outstanding fit for NFIB.” He added, “He's the right person at the right time.”

Stottlemyer, who now heads Apogen, the McLean, Va. technology firm, is the former president of McGuire Woods Consulting and managing director of McGuire Woods Capital Group, where he advised technology companies on growth strategies, acquisitions and investments. He also led a financial turnaround at BTG Inc., where he served as executive vice president and chief financial and administrative officer.

U.S. Sen. George Allen, who once appointed Stottlemyer to the Virginia Commission on Competitive and Equitable Tax Policy, said in a statement that the move was a "coup" for the NFIB, which has more than 600,000 members. "He's got the right experience, knowledge and relationships with business, political and community leaders," the former governor said.

The Washington Post called Stottlemyer “one of the rising stars of the Washington-area technology community” and reported that the NFIB is often ranked among the top five lobbying groups in terms of clout in the capital. The NFIB has 1,000 employees, a $90 million annual budget and offices in every state and in Washington, D.C.

Stottlemyer will be only the fifth president and CEO in the organization's 62-year history.


Please login or register to join the discussion.

There are currently no replies, be the first to post a reply.