Reminder: New IRS Tax Filing Address in 16 States

As taxpayers begin to prepare their tax returns, the Internal Revenue Service reminds them that they may be sending their returns to a different service center than last year. However, those who received a tax instruction booklet from the IRS in the mail and use the labels included with the booklet can be assured that their tax returns will go to the correct address.

However, taxpayers who did not receive an instruction booklet in the mail, are mailing a paper tax return and live in one of the following 16 states should be aware of the change. Taxpayers in Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Vermont and Washington will file their tax returns with different Internal Revenue Service Centers during 2003 than they did during 2002.

During 2003:

  • For taxpayers in Mississippi, the address is Internal Revenue Service Center, Atlanta, GA 39901

  • For taxpayers in Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont, the address is Internal Revenue Service Center, Andover, MA 05501

  • For taxpayers in Indiana, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota, the address is Internal Revenue Service Center, Kansas City, MO 64999

  • For taxpayers in New Jersey, the address is Internal Revenue Service Center, Philadelphia, PA 19255

  • For taxpayers in Kentucky, Louisiana and Oklahoma, the address is Internal Revenue Service Center, Austin, TX 73301

  • For taxpayers in Arizona, Idaho and Washington, the address is Internal Revenue Service Center, Fresno, CA 93888, and

  • For taxpayers in Ohio, the address is Internal Revenue Service Center, Memphis, TN 37501.

Taxpayers enclosing a check should add “-0102” to the zip code listed above if sending a Form 1040, “-0115” for Form 1040A, or “-0114” for Form 1040EZ. Those not enclosing a check should add “-0002” if sending a Form 1040, “-0015” for Form 1040A, or “-0014” for Form 1040EZ.

The IRS continues to redistribute workload among the eight centers that process individual tax returns. Redistributing work among the centers is an example of the commitment of the IRS to provide better service to taxpayers.

Taxpayers who e-file will not be affected by these changes.

You may like these other stories...

Boehner addresses GOP priorities ahead of midterm electionsHouse Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) on Thursday delivered what amounted to closing arguments ahead of the November elections, laying out a list of Republican...
As anyone who's ever been through a divorce can attest, the pain of parting with your spouse isn't just emotional—the fallout from divorce can wreak financial havoc as well long after the dust in the courtroom...
Former DOJ Tax Division head Kathryn Keneally joining DLA Piper in New YorkGlobal law firm DLA Piper announced on Thursday that Kathryn Keneally, the former head of the US Justice Department Tax Division, is joining the firm...

Already a member? log in here.

Upcoming CPE Webinars

Sep 24
In this jam-packed presentation Excel expert David Ringstrom, CPA will give you a crash-course in creating spreadsheet-based dashboards. A dashboard condenses large amounts of data into a compact space, yet enables the end user to easily drill down into details when warranted.
Sep 30
This webcast will include discussions of important issues in SSARS No. 19 and the current status of proposed changes by the Accounting and Review Services Committee in these statements.
Oct 21
Kristen Rampe will share how to speak and write more effectively by understanding your own and your audience's communication style.
Oct 23
Amber Setter will show the value of leadership assessments as tools for individual and organizational leadership development initiatives.