Major League Baseball Doesn't Have To Fix Mistakes
When I make a mistake, I fix it. A whopper of a mistake was made by the 1st base umpire at last night's Detroit Tigers - Cleveland Indian's game that deprived Armando Galarraga a perfect game. He essentially faced 28 batters and retired all 28 in a row. All because the first base umpire blew the call on what should have been the 27th out.
Baseball commissioner Bud Selig says he won't alter the umpires call and they'll look at changing the rules on instant replays. Pretty lame if you ask me. Maybe not overturning the bad call is correct. But the overall statement is quite lame.
And Galarraga goes in the history books with a one hitter instead of throwing 1 and 1/27ths of a perfect game. Darn shame.
Joel M. Ungar, CPA is a lifelong resident of the Detroit area and a graduate of The University of Michigan. He is a principal with Silberstein Ungar, PLLC, a Top 15 auditor of SEC public reporting companies. Joel writes observations on different matters and especially on working with and using LinkedIn. He thinks he has a sense of humor.